The Social Security Administration (SSA) has a list of impairments or disorders that qualify individuals for Social Security disability benefits.

These impairments can be found on the SSA’s website.

The listings include:

  • Musculoskeletal System
  • Special Senses and Speech
  • Respiratory System
  • Cardiovascular System
  • Digestive System
  • Genitourinary Impairments
  • Hematological Disorders
  • Skin Disorders
  • Endocrine System
  • Impairments that Affect Multiple Body Systems
  • Neurological
  • Mental Disorders
  • Malignant Neoplastic Diseases
  • Immune System Disorders

Disability claimants may find these to be very broad categories, but within each listing there are more specific categories explaining disabling conditions. 

So, if you do not see your disabling condition such as cancer, diabetes, depression, multiple sclerosis, or back impairments, do not be alarmed.  Many common terms are spelled out differently in the listing of impairments. 

These listings may be periodically updated to include other disabling conditions.

The Listing of Impairments may seem difficult to understand and many individuals attempting to get Social Security disability may feel more comfortable hiring an experienced Social Security disability attorney to help them understand what criteria is need to be found disabled. 

Indiana disability lawyer Scott D. Lewis can provide a free consultation to explain the Social Security disability process.